Captain Underpants and the young entrepreneur

Like most 7-year old boys, my Master Jim would much rather play computer games, watch Cartoon Network or bring to life some sort of invention that his over-active imagination have conjured, than to sit down and read a book.

I was therefore very happy when my mom recently told me that, during a visit to my brother’s farm he discovered a book called Captain underpants, which he actually read and could not put down for hours! I rushed out to Bargain Books and found that they stock the entire series! I bought one (about a week ago) and he was delighted.

This then, is last night’s conversation:

“Mom, I need another Captain Underpants book”
“Wow, have you finished the first one?” (Super excited mommy, so proud of her young man) “No, I just need one” (Mmmm, sounds weird)
“Why?”
“Well, it’s like this: every day when we have reading time in class, someone gets to borrow the book and read it” “Oh, that’s nice of you! What does teacher say about this?”
“She doesn’t actually know, ’cause it’s my business”
“What do you mean?”
“You see you are supposed to read to class readers, but they are boring. So, before reading time, I see who wants the book and who’s got money and then that person gets to read it instead of the stupid reader.” (Alarm bells!!!! Money, reading, what’s cooking). “Why do they need money?”
“Duh, its for renting my book and then they have to buy me whatever I want at tuck shop! How else am I supposed to be rewarded for being so kind?”

Now, am I supposed to be proud of him for coming up with a way to make money, or scold him for running a business in school? Either way, he is reading and loving it!

Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

1 thought on “Captain Underpants and the young entrepreneur”

  1. Briljant! Sonder ‘n enke1le boekhouklas het die mannetjie die basiese begrip van entrepeneurskap ontsyfer. Nou leer jy hom net van ‘n spaarvarkie, waarin hy ‘n deel moet gooi, en dan is hy A for Away!

Say something, you know you want to!

