I’m Blue!

I am, what some (my husband especially) might call, a reality show junkie: Survivor, Amazing Race, Big Brother, Idols, The Apprentice, etc, etc. Whenever I see an ad of a new show starting, I start getting jittery, set alarms, etc, you get what I’m saying?

I simply love, love, love them. The interaction between people, the drama, tension and o, the moment of voting results. I must add, however, that I have never voted in any reality show, ever. Until now that is.

I got very excited when I heard that SA Idols was returning for a whopping 6th season, and couldn’t wait for all the funny’s, that is the best part of the show right? Wrong.

In walks Jan Hoogendyk aka Elvis Blue. His whole demeanor already said: watch this space! Then the heart-felt story how he came to be Elvis Blue. I was swallowing hard to get rid of this huge lump in my throat and then he started signing. That was it, the walls broke and tears were streaming down my face. Of course, seeing Mara Louw cry did not help much! I knew right there that this man was going to make it far.

I couldn’t wait for the next show and started counting the days and hours until the next Blue Moment. By the time we reached the first voting stage I was grabbing for my phone the moment the lines opened. O my, each performance better than the previous one, we had a winner.

I went on to join his Facebook fan-club and have watched the steady growth over the weeks, every Sunday, a couple more. On Saturday we were aiming to get to 11 000 by nightfall, unfortunately that did not happen. We only made it to 11 000 by 11:00 on Sunday morning, woo hoo, the elation, the pure joy radiating from the page was incredible.

Then it was Showtime and o my, what a show it was. Elvis gave it his all. He had us in tears by the second song and jiving on the last performance. It was unbelievable. After the show I logged on to the page – 12 500 fans!!! I have never seen such amazing growth, I have never seen an artist pick up so many fans in one go, I was totally blown away. This morning we are standing on 13 300+ fans and every time I refresh the page the numbers have climbed. That is more than 2 000 fans in a day!

What still catches me off guard every time I visit the page though is the absolute love radiating from there. I have looked at the Idols page and at those of some of the other contestants and cannot believe the level of malice, hate even, that they display for anyone who does not support “their Idol”. C’mon people, we live in a democracy, a wonderful God-given democracy, each with a voice, opinion and vote of his own. Why then do we find it necessary to belittle the opponents?

The Elvis fanbase or fanily as we call it all have one simple goal: Get Elvis to the top, by God’s grace, let His will be done! We know that, no matter what happens, Elvis already has a huge following that will be with him wherever he goes and whatever he might do in future. Should he, God willing, win this, it will just be such an awesome bonus!

We love Blue Mondays and even wear blue from Sundays to Tuesdays to show our support.

To Elvis: Thank you for sharing your talent with us. Thank you for the time that you spend away from your family and friends, to give us what we want. Thank you for being so humble and sincere. You Rock Dude!!!

To the Elvis Fanily: Thank you guys for making the Elvis fanpage a wonderful place to visit, something uplifting, positive and powerful. Thank you for every cent spent voting, it will be worth it in the end! May the best man win!

Jan, Jan, Jan die wenner van Idols! Jan, Jan Jan die beste Idol ooit!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

Say something, you know you want to!

