The Year that was and the one that is now!

Happy New Year to one and all!

Wow, what a year it has been. 2010 started with a lot of doubt and fear and went sort of (seriously) south from there.

My mother, my best friend in the world, taught me (from a very young age) two very important lessons:

1. There is always something to be grateful for; and

2. Learn from your experiences, your mistakes and your misfortune. Make the best of it and carry on, never give up and never give in.

Mommy, thank you for these lessons. If it weren’t for them, I would not have been the person I am today.

In the year that was I went from being employed as a manager to being unemployed to being a waitress to trying a new venture and ended the year as an “office manager” as such for a courier company. It sure had it’s ups and downs and I to practice these two lessons on more than one occasion. However, I have managed to finally find myself through all that happened. For about 5 years now I have been on a search to find myself, my purpose on this earth, my reason for being here, if you want to call it that. It has not been easy, I must say and at times I thought I would never find out what it is all about. Everything that happened also lead me to find my purpose, my thing that I am passionate about and the thing that makes me happy.

I know that I was destined to help others. I know that I was born to make a difference.

Easier said than done, I know, but I will do my utmost in 2011 to make this happen.

My resolution for the year then: to get 365-2-1 off the ground at a running start and to live each day to the full. God gives us each day as a blessing, a promise of new life and new beginnings. It is up to me and you to make the day count. Oh, and I will also try to post more often 😉

365-2-1 is going to require a lot of hard work and dedication. I’ve noticed through the 30 days Barefoot Against Poverty campaign how little people actually care about the next guy. I am determined however, that I can make this work. Even if I only manage to touch one person’s life through this, then so be it, but everything starts with one step. Martin Luther King said: I have a dream! Mr Nelson Mandela shared that dream and years later we can see the difference it has made. My dream may not be as big as theirs, but hey, it all starts with one person.

Guys and girls, I hope that 2011 will be a good one for all of you. May the best moments of 2010 be the absolute worst of 2011. Here’s to a good one!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “The Year that was and the one that is now!”

  1. Nothing better than NOT working the inhuman 8-to-5 in someone else’s office building or business. It makes you a believer

Say something, you know you want to!

