365 pages to be filled

What a year it has been!?!

I am very excited to see the end of this year and to welcome 2013. Not because this year has been all bad, not at all! 2012 held many a good moment, believe you me!

For some reason, I don’t know why, I am filled with this huge excitement about the year to come.

Constantly throughout today, I’ve found myself contemplating the year that was. The ups and downs. The roller coaster ride that was 2012.

We (Jacques and I) started out the year unemployed and homeless. Literally homeless. New Years Eve was sent camping out (illegally!), fighting each other and fighting to get paid, making up, getting some money together and pulling an all-nighter!

From there it got better and worse and better again. On the upside there was new jobs, a new home, new friends, seeing my mom again, having Luke back with me, Nathan Bjorn being added to the family, Jacques and I building a stronger foundation for our relationship and finally falling pregnant!

On the down side we had quitting jobs, losing friends, money issues, car issues, fighting over non-sense and a miscarriage! Yet, here we are, still madly in love and with big plans for the year ahead.

I also find myself thinking of others. My family and loved ones, friends and those I don’t even know. I’ve been thinking about how much I have to be grateful for and thinking of those and wits-end. For so many people this time of the year is one of despair, a time of sadness and many give up.

I can’t change the world, that much I know. However, I can try to make a difference in someone else’s life.

New Years resolutions? Well, I don’t know about that. We all seem to have these grand plans at the start of the year that never bear fruit. Through my contemplation, I’ve come to the conclusion that I will not make any grand resolutions for this year. Only 3 things will I do:

1. First and foremost: stop, breath and think before I act / re-act.

How many times do we sit back and think: I could have said that differently, I could have handled that better, I could have… Friends, remember that each second wasted is a second you will never have back. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. This age old rule applies not only to physics, but to each and every situation you face daily! So many conflicts and stressful situations can be avoided if we follow this simple rule: stop, breath and think!

2. Live in gratitude and love completely.

This is something I’ve been doing for a while now and will continue to do this year: every morning and every night spend just a couple of minutes to think about everything you have to be grateful for and give thanks for it. Gratitude not only for the big things, but everything. When last did you go to bed and felt a real, humbling gratitude for your pillow, for instance? Really feel it, give in to the feeling and say thanks. I saw a billboard the other day: What if you woke up one morning and all you have is that which you gave thanks for the previous night? Really got me thinking!

Part of this gratitude is to give in to the feeling of love. Love for the things and people that you have. Love for the sunshine on your skin, love for the trees you drive past every day. Love fully and completely. No hesitation, no fear, no regret. Give in to love and see how it can transform your life. It is an integral part of the Law of Attraction, what you most focus on is what you will get back. Focus on fear and more fearful things will come to you. Focus on gratitude and more gratitude creating situations will come your way.

3. Follow my dreams.

Wow, a big one and probably the most difficult one to tackle. It’s so easy to tell someone to go for what they want. Doing it however, now that’s a completely different ballgame altogether! So often we allow things to get in the way. I don’t have the time, skills, money, resources, whatever, to make it work. Bla-bla-bla!!!! I’ve used these and many more excuses countless times. Thinking about this, I’ve come to realize that the biggest killer of our dreams are nothing but a tiny four-letter word: FEAR!!!

We allow fear to intrude on our dreams, steal our passion, suck the life out of what makes us happy.

Fear of failure
Fear of loss
Fear of rejection
Fear of ridicule
Fear of being different
Fear of going against the norm
Fear of ……
Fear of ……
Fear of ……

I’ve spent countless hours reading motivational, inspirational and self-help blogs. I think I probably have the longest newsletter subscription list in history! This year I will focus on just 5 of them and actually follow through on what I learn from them.

I’m not saying that I will reach all my dreams and goals in this year, but I sure am going to put in some real effort and say bye-bye fear. You are no longer my Master!

Well guys and gals, have a good one! Whatever you may be doing this year, do it to the full, to the best of your ability!

Today starts a new book with 365 blank pages, pages just waiting for you to write on.

Oh yeah, while you are writing your story, don’t allow anyone else to hold the pen! (PS not my wise words, but one of the many good quotes I saw this year)

May 2013 be a blessed one for one and all, filled with love, joy, peace and God’s grace!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

Say something, you know you want to!

