ATKV Oesfees (Harvest Festival) 2013

It is the start of the best season in the wine industry. Annual harvest festivals will soon be filling our diaries and, as usual, it will be a difficult pick to squeeze in as many as possible.

Last year I was fortunate enough to attend a number of them and my favorite by far was the one held at Idiom. I certainly can’t wait to see what they will do this year.

The one, which will definitely take top preference for me though, is the 6th Annual ATKV Oesfees to be held at Solms Delta, Franschhoek on 23 March 2013. It promises to be a fantastic affair with more than 100 uniquely South African performers on stage. Some of the big names include Emo Adams, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Valiant Swart Band and Claire Johnson. Besides them, I am also looking forward to seeing internet sensation spoon-slide guitarist Hannes Coetzee. I was fortunate enough to see Hannes in action during the Kalahari Karoo Blues presented by David Kramer and fell in love with his unique style.

Solms Delta is indeed the perfect venue for this festival. A kiddies area will be available for under 12’s with a Carnival Circus theme, which is guaranteed to keep them occupied. Mom and dad can indulge to their hearts content in the fantastic traditional South African and Cape style foods to be prepared by the ever popular Fyndraai Restaurant.

Of course, no harvest festival is complete without savoring the local wines on offer! Here again, Solms Delta comes to the party and deliver way beyond expectations. Their uniquely blended Rhone style varietals stay true to the Cape with names such as Hiervandaan, Vastrap, Langarm and Gemoedsrus. The Solms-Astor Cape Jazz Shiraz is another one of my favorites and an absolute crowd pleaser. Apart from food and wine, their contributions to the economy and environment are admirable. The Annual Harvest Festival is held to bring together farm workers and farm owners to thank them for their hard work during the year.

For Solms Delta however, it goes beyond just an annual festival. They have two trusts in place to look after the needs of workers and farm residents under the watchful eye of a full-time social worker. It is evident that the economic well being of the community carries a lot of fruit with the farm owners.

In terms of the environment, they recently joined the 110% Green Campaign as their flagship project. The 3 branches of their project consist of recycling, a worm farm and the Dik Delta Garden project.

So, if this year you are looking to attend a harvest festival, which impacts on the community for more than just a day, make your way to Solms Delta.

For more information visit their website http://www.solmsdelta.co.za or via Twitter on: @solms_delta #oesfees. For early bird ticket discounts visit their Facebook page Facebook.com/SolmsDelta.

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

Say something, you know you want to!

