Welcome to Rape Town!

Today I encountered by far the best ever marketing technique, ever!

From 6AM to 6PM 94.5 KFM played a “ding” every four minutes to create awareness of the shocking rape statistics in South Africa. Initially when I heard about, I thought it would go by unnoticed. However, by 11:00 I had a shiver running down my spine every time I heard the sound. By 13:00 I was in a state where hearing the sound made me want to cry every time. It made people so uncomfortable that they wanted to change the radio station.

My beloved rainbow nation, the country I love with my entire being has earned itself the title of Rape Capital of the world, which is extremely embarrassing and the reason why we have decided to embark on this campaign. Statistics prove that in SA a women is more likely to be raped than educated! Seriously! We live in the country with the highest number of rapes and we do nothing about it. Nothing.

In India a young woman was brutally raped 7 weeks ago. The Indian community is still protesting and marching to call for justice. In the 7 weeks since that has happened 9000 – that is nine thousand! – woman and children have been raped and sexually abused in SA. Have we had any protests? Have we had any marches?

It took the brutal rape, which lead to her death, of a 17 year old girl from Bredasdorp to bring us to action.

You see, in SA, rape, sexual abuse, mental abuse, physical abuse, emotional abuse – these are all the black sheep of the family. It is like that one family member that we would rather not think or talk about. It is out there, it exists, but it does not affect us. How wrong we are. One in three women in SA will experience some form of sexual abuse in her lifetime. Now, quickly think about how many women you know. A third of them have been / will be affected by sexual abuse!

I will not go into details about my personal experiences, for various reasons. I can tell you however that it happens more often than you care to know. The minister at church or the church elder. The doctor or psychologist. The police officer and lawyer.

Sexual predators are not limited to the lowlifes, the drunks or drug addicts. Sexual victims are not limited to those living in previously disadvantaged communities.

It happens every day all around you.

A while back I read a “Rapist’s guide to women to avoid being attacked”. What it boils down to is that women should completely desexualise themselves, not wear tight fitting or short items of clothing, cut their hair short and walk around with umbrellas or something else that can be used as weapons. Basically, we should live in fear and do everything in our ability to not celebrate the beauty God have blessed us with. Well I say hell no!

It is time that we stand up and say enough is enough. How many babies, innocent girls or women need to be destroyed before we act?

We are too scared to say something when see something or suspect something is wrong.

Open your mouth. Very few victims will speak out on their own accord. Speak up, ask the question, you just might save a life.

Jacques and I have decided to embark on a campaign to create awareness and raise funds.

I propose Black Wednesdays. Let’s be heard. Let us show that we will not stand by quietly while this continues to happen. From now we will be wearing black on Wednesdays to show our voice. I truly hope that we can get more people involved in this and make it a national and international movement.

We will shortly have Stop Rape Now! Bumper stickers available at R20 each. All profit will go towards Rape Crisis Centers or victims who need medical assistance.

Please help us to make this project grow.

It is the least we can do.

Come on South Africa, if we can turn around from being the biggest racist country in the world to being a rainbow nation, surely we can turn around from being the Rape Capital of the world to being a society and country where abuse and rape is not tolerated!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Rape Town!”

  1. Well done! Baie goed geskryf. Ja, dit is absolute skokkende statistieke en die ergste is, geen vrou is veilig nie! Sterkte met die campaign, ek glo dit gaan werk. ek sal die kant my deel doen.

  2. You are completely right. No longer must we be silent. Edmund Burke said – Evil thrives when good men do nothing!

Say something, you know you want to!

