Oscar & Reeva – a crying shame!

It was with utter shock and disbelief that we heard the news of Oscar Pistorius fatally wounding his girlfriend, Reeva Steenkamp, in the early hours of this morning.

Even more shocking, however, are all the tasteless, disgusting jokes doing the rounds! I can’t believe that we live in society so sick that it is OK for people to believe that they have the right to joke about something as serious as this. Actually, if you look at the state of our nation, I should not be sickened by this. I’ve mentioned before, and still feel very strongly, about the fact that it is time that each and every person in this country does a lot of soul-searching. Fixing this sick society starts with each and every one of us. Only if every one of us focuses on fixing yourself, we will start to see a difference.

Sure there are two sides to the coin, as we see it at the moment:

1. It was an accident, as reported. In which case it just bring me back to the sorry state of our country. We live in a country we fear is so embedded in us that we take the law into our own hands and feel that we have to kill to protect ourselves. If this was not the case, you would not have had people sleeping with loaded guns next to their beds.

2. It was not accident and there is a lot more to the story. In which case it just proves that we all have skeletons in the closet and no-one really knows what goes on behind closed doors.

We will have to wait and see what happens as the police investigation proceeds.

Bottom line is this, a family lost their daughter. A human life is lost. A life has been ruined.

None of us know the facts of the situation and none of us have the right to comment or joke about this.

It is a crying shame!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Oscar & Reeva – a crying shame!”

  1. In cases like this I always see it as a bit of the hair of the dog that bit you: Humour is the anti-dote. Why else would South Africa be so known for its culture of humour – because of its culture of violence and crime, that’s why

Say something, you know you want to!

