Fearless = Legendary!

On Saturday Jacques and I were fortunate enough to attend the Robin Sharma conference in Cape Town. I have to take a minute here to thank the fantastic people at African Billionaire Events Management and Mi-Fone who made this possible. You are a fantastic bunch!

A lot has been said and written about motivation, success and personal growth over the centuries. Robin Sharma, however, definitely goes into my Top 5 list and on Saturday he again confirmed why he has earned his spot.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be sharing some of his principles and techniques with you. First of, though, I want to cover a very important aspect.

Why do we not succeed? Why do we struggle to attain the things we want, be they physically, emotionally, spiritually or tangible? Why do we have dreams and goals, but seem to be just incapable of doing what is needed to make it a reality?

The answer my friends lies in fear. Fear of rejection, fear of failure, fear of ridicule. We can blame circumstances and people. We can look for every excuse possible – and we will find it. Like Robin said: The funny thing about excuses are that you’ll always find them. You don’t even have to look very far, an excuse is always lurking just around the corner, it is after all one of the cornerstones of a failure.

I heard a beautiful quote, which really hit home with me:
Fear and faith both requires us to believe in something we can not see.

Is this not true? You can not possibly see into the future, you can not possibly know which opportunity awaits. It is just all too easy to look at things and, through fear, only see that which can go wrong. Don’t blame yourself, it is not your fault! It is simply the result of years upon years of conditioning. We are not conditioned to explore, to speak out, to act on what we want. From early childhood we are told: don’t do this, don’t speak to strangers, do act like that, don’t question things! Don’t, don’t, don’t! The result? Adults, young and old, who are highly dissatisfied, depressed individuals. We have suicides, divorce, infidelity – all because we are unhappy to the core and too scared to do something about it!

My favourite saying from Saturday would have to be the following:

We are born into genius, we are born to be legendary, to be iconic.

Wow, does that not just sound fantastic? Stop a minute here, look at yourself in the mirror and say it out loud, say it with conviction:

I am iconic! I am legendary!

WOW!!!

I must admit I failed miserably at the 5AM club this week (eish, that’s a tough one still, but I am determined to master it!), but I did say these words to myself each morning. Want to know a funny thing? It worked! This week I made more sales than the previous two weeks combined!

I certainly can’t wait to see the results a month from now, once I’ve put the other practices in place.

Try it! Really, what do you have to lose?

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

1 thought on “Fearless = Legendary!”

Say something, you know you want to!

