May Day and more

Happy May Day to all! I hope you are making good use of your day to relax and spend some quality with your loved ones.

Let’s just spare a minute to think not only about how far we have come to fight for workers rights, but also how much still remains to be down to ensure safe working conditions and good wages for te employed as well as job creation for the unemployed. There is a huge amount of work still to be done!

On a lighter note: twenty years ago today was one of the best days in mankind’s history – the first day that the internet went live! Love it or hate it, you have to agree it has forever changed our lives.

Imagine searching for a mother’s day gift, planning that far away holiday, finding that perfect job, anything for that matter, without the internet it would just not be the same. I love the fact that even though our family members are miles apart, we can still know and see exactly what they are keeping themselves busy with. Equally important for me is the vast amount of information and audience we have at our fingertips. I honestly don’t know how Dickens or Shakespeare did it!

Thank you to Cern (European Organization for Nuclear Research) for first bringing it to us.

To view the very first web page that was made publicly available go to:

http://info.cern.ch/hypertext/WWW/TheProject.html

Right now, I’m off to Mugg and Bean with Luke for Chai Latte’s, Red Velvet Cupcakes and The Prophet by Kahlil Bibran

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “May Day and more”

  1. Unfortunately, May Day or not, I’m stuck at work with such a beautiful day outside (in the UK we get the first Monday of May off, rather than the actual 1st).
    And yes, thanks to CERN, and especially to Sir Tim Berners Lee who not only invented the WWW but (apparently) was the chap who persuaded CERN to release it to the public for free, making all this possible 😉

    1. Aha, thank you for the name! I was wondering which genius actually started it all. With regards to May Day, wish I was in your shoes! Would much rather have a Monday off than this mid-week break. Today feels like Monday all over again!

Say something, you know you want to!

