It’s a Text, Text, Text World

I do not have the gift of gab. I don’t do small talk.
Today’s Daily Prompt asks the question: how do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all?

Do you know that feeling when what you think, what you mean to say, comes out completely wrong when you open your mouth?

Well, that’s me, nine times out of ten, at least. I always have an answer in my head, but when I try to say those words, it’s is a different story altogether. My tongue gets taken over by some alien being, which then translates the words into something completely different.

I am the one who shies away from small talk, who stutters over words when asked a sudden question, who knows what to say ten minutes after the conversation is over. I am the wallflower at the party, watching and listening.

When I write, it is as if the aliens disappear and my thoughts become coherent. I can put two sentences together and it just flows.

Writing to me is freedom! I can say what I want and take as long as I want without interruption. Can I go live in a monastery somewhere and take a vow of silence please?

When I think, when I write, it all makes sense.

Talking is overrated anyway. What do you think?

8 thoughts on “It’s a Text, Text, Text World

  1. Thanks for your honesty. It happens to me a lot. I don’t know if I must blame it on being foreign. Take this morning. Babyshower. All is well, happy. I am trying my best to fit in, smalltalk, easy jokes and all. But I always forget the rule to never be too honest about myself. I share how my toddler is just not eating. A sweet young thing suggests to put bowls of snacks everywhere around the house. I am giggling saying: wait till you got kids of your own – mine would just smear the food all over the walls and stuff their toys with it … – instead of laughs it gets an angry explosion from sweet young thing: “I dont need to have kids in order to know what works for them” … okay okay – I smile and wish I had said nothing … So I agree with you. We try to talk to be friendly, but words can always be misunderstood. Even while communicating online. that’s why love music. πŸ™‚

Say something, you know you want to!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.