Who wants to live forever?

If given the opportunity, would you want to live forever?

I read a very interesting article that got me thinking. The SENS Foundation have a theory that death is nothing but a curable disease. They claim that, with enough research, they will be able to reverse the ageing of cells and, by doing so, give humans the ability to live beyond 1000 years.

You see, I have made peace with the fact that I am no longer 18. I have long ago made peace with the fact that I am going to die, and not to be morbid, but I quite look forward to it (but that is a completely different conversation to be had, right?).

Yes, it would be very interesting indeed to see what the world will look like 100 or 500 or 1000 years from now. Interesting yes, but would we not then lose the urgency to make the best of every day? If you could live for 1000 years, what would you take serious? Would you live passionately every day, or would you waste your days, thinking that you had all the time in the world?

Would I want that? I don’t think I would.

Build me a time machine, and you will have my undivided attention. Now there is something that grabs me!

Agh, imagine being able to go back and forth in time with no limitation! I think there is a whole lot of gratitude to be learned by going back in time.

Which of you would want to live forever and how would you spend your days!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Who wants to live forever?”

  1. The popular religious belief/assumption that there is a hereafter/eternal life/heaven is nothing but living forever. And everybody looks forward to THAT. So what are we going to do there, wherever that is…

    1. Aaah, now you touch on the “different conversation to be had” part of my post. There are as many ideas about this as there are people on the planet. I like to think that eternal life after death simply has got to be better than this life. If greed, lust, etc can be taken out of the equation, we will live in a perfect world and I really would not mind living forever.

  2. I don’t worry too much about things I can’t control…

    My greatgran lived to 102, but that last year or so she was very sad. She said she wondered if God had forgotten her.

    1. Sweet! My gran is also at the point where she says that she does not want to carry on “here” anymore.

      I don’t worry about it too much, but just can understand why people waste their days. We don’t know if we will live another year or another decade, so we might as well make the best of every day!

  3. With today’s life and all the stresses that comes with it, I would not want to live forever. I would not even want to live hunderds of years like the people in the Bible. Their lives were more simpler, so I can understand why they lived for so long. But not today’s age. Nope. Not me, no thank you.

    1. You are so right on this. Even 50 years ago people had considerably less stress. The more technology we have to make our life’s easier, the more stressed it becomes! Just imagine what it will be like 20 years from now! It scares me to just think of it

Say something, you know you want to!

