Dulled

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

I really had to think about this one!

sunset

Sunrise, sunset.  A cloudy sky or full moon on a starry starry night.  Endless mountain stretches or the Karoo.  The slow breath of the ocean or a waterfall.  Seeing Luke change into the man I know he will be.  Never reading again.   I could not do without any of these!

birds

The song of birds early in the morning or the hoot of an owl in the dark of night.  Rain drops pattering on the roof or the shrieks of children playing hide-and-seek.  The voices of my parents or my love telling me how much I mean to him.  The rumbling thunder or the lightning cracking in the sky.  I could not do without any of these!

foodanddrink

Coffee, wine, chocolates, food, pudding, cheese, figs – too many to name!  I could not do without any of these!

lawn

The first raindrops on sand baked hot by a relentless sun.  A freshly cut lawn.  Cookies baking in the oven.  My mother’s perfume or father’s cologne.  Luke’s sweaty young boy smell when he hugs me after school or dirty socks.  Flowers and pine cone’s.  Morning breath of someone you love.  I could not do without any of these!

embrace

The bark of a tree or dusty walls of a dilapidated building.  The sun on my skin or the breeze in my hair.  Arms hugging tight or lips brushing.  The warmth of a fireplace on a cold winter’s night.  Sleeping in your lover’s arms.  I could not do without any of these!

Keep your potion mystery man!  Stay away from my world, I want to experience it all.

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Dulled”

  1. There are times when I think I could do without sound (like when that wonderful boyfriend snores) or smell (that morning breathe that you referred to) but in the end, I wouldn’t give them (or him) up for the world!

  2. Pingback: On My Front Porch

Say something, you know you want to!

