Good Food and Wine Show

A heartfelt thank you! goes out to Peter Feldman for the Good Food and Wine Show Tickets. It was an amazing experience!

I must admit, however, that I felt like a bit of a traitor for attending the show straight after I did the March against Monsato. I found it a bit ironic too that, on the same day in the same city, awareness was being created about the food industry. Only, it is two completely opposite ends of the food spectrum.

So, what was I going to do at the Good Food and Wine Show? My initial thought was to just go and report on the different delicacies on offer. After attending the march, however, I felt compelled to look deeper. Entering the Convention Centre I had one goal in sight: find healthy, wholesome foods and products. Non Genetically Modified food sources, food which could actually feed the body nutrients as opposed to harming the body.

I was surprised at the number of exhibitors who focused on healthy living and healthy eating. One more thing, before we get down to business. Apart from the entry tickets to the show being provided by Peter Feldman, none of the companies or products listed below has requested to be mentioned, nor have I received any form of compensation from them. These are purely my opinions. So, without any further a due, herewith my winners of the 2013 Good Food and Wine Show, in no particular order:

1. G F Foods (York) Ltd
Feel Free will start distribution of their products in South Africa within the next 3 / 4 months. All products are Gluten and Wheat Free. The products also contain no GMO’s. Herewith a list of their products on offer:
 Feel Free Home Baking (Bread, Sponge Cake, Brownies and Muffin mixes as well as All Purpose Flour). I consider myself to be somewhat of a Brownie expert and Luke eagerly volunteered to judge the muffins. YUMMY! Soft, moist, tasty, decadent.
 Feel Free Pasta (gluten, wheat, dairy, soya and egg free)
 Feel Free Italian Ready Meals
 Feel Free Easter Ready Meals
 For the love of Savory: Feel Free Indulgence and Freedom – a variety of pastries and pies
 For the Sweet Tooth: Feel Free Classic Deserts, Sweet Bakery and Christmas.

Stuart Allister, Operations Director, commented on the state of the Health Care Food Industry, and especially that in South Africa. It is a very sad that once a products is labeled healthy, the price doubles or triples even. I can simply not understand why it should be more expensive to feed healthy than it is to fill your body with toxins. I guess we have to thank “Big Brother” for that. I can’t wait for the Feel Free products to become available in SA!

For more information contact them via any of the following channels:
info@gf-foods.co.uk
http://www.feelfreeforglutenfree.co.uk
http://www.gf-foods.co.uk

2. Home for Health
The Home for Health Sprout Kit is a wonderful concept and I truly hope that I will be in a position to purchase one of these in the (very) near future! The kit allows you to grow your own sprouts in the comfort of your own home and have them at hand whenever you need them. The kit includes everything needed to start sprouting today. What also interested me was the Wheat grass kit with Juicer. One shot of wheat grass juice a day is all you need to get all the minerals and nutrients that you would get from roughly 2 pounds of leafy greens. It also looks pretty and will add some live to any kitchen. All pricing includes free postage packaging in South Africa.

For more information contact Claire Wright on
+27 21 785 4331
claire@homeforhealth.co.za
http://www.homeforhealth.co.za

3. Fry’s Family Pop’s – Luke and I have decided that this would be our all time new favourite snack!
Wally and Debbie Fry – committed vegetarians, entrepreneurs and philanthropists –started the company to bring good food, great taste naturally. Their products are all meat, egg and diary free, No GMO’s, No MSG’s No artificial colorants, no hydrogenated fats, no trans fats, no preservatives. Endorsed by the Vegan and Vegetarian Societies of the UK, Kosher, Halaal, Shuddha, FDA Approved and Best Buy Label in the UK (based on company ethics).

Unfortunately we only got the taste the Pop’s, but that was good enough! I don’t know how it is done, but it tastes exactly like chicken. KFC Chicken Nuggets have nothing on these. I can’t wait to taste the rest of their products on offer.

For availability, to learn more of Wally’s global quest or any further information contact them on
+27 31 700 3022
enquiries@frygroup.co.za
http://www.frysfamily.com
http://www.supportmfm.co.za

4. Curds and Whey Farm Yoghurt
100% Home Made full cream, plain yoghurt with no preservatives, stabilisers or added sugars. We could try the plain yoghurt with some pure honey and it is delicious. They had berries, custard and cream with yoghurt, chocolate with yoghurt, muesli with yoghurt and a whole lot more on display. According to the owner, whose name I shamefully did not get(!), they make excellent lunch box substitutes for children.
The products are currently stocked in only a handful of shops in and around Cape Town, but online orders can be done too.

For more information contact them on
+27 82 462 6422
curdswhey@adept.co.za
http://www.curdsandwhey.co.za

5. The last is not a food product but a high quality health product
Lavender in Lavender Hill offers all natural body and foot products designed with a social conscience. The products were created to enable the upliftment of the Lavender Hill community – a community known better for gangsterism, drugs and unemployment. 15% of the Company’s annual net profit is donated to various initiaves in the community to help fight these problems.

All products are hand crafted and made from only the highest quality natural and organic incredients. The products include:
 Lavender Tea
 Essential Lavender Oil
 Foot Rub
 Lip Balm
 Moisturiser

For any further information contact them on
lavender.lavenderhill@gmail.com
facebook: lavender in lavender hill
Marcelle +27 82 357 7613
Cherylene +27 83 598 8998

Looking forward to next year’s show, where hopefully the health food industry will be represented I higher numbers still!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Good Food and Wine Show”

  1. I can’t wait for Feel Free’s all-purpose flour. Last time I could get hold of an all-purpose flour was in 1999. It is the best. Makes perfect pancakes by just adding water and salt.

Say something, you know you want to!

