“Nanuschka” is not my real name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Hello world, my name is Elna!  Nanuschka, Nuschka, Natie and Nanyn are names which were used by my family when I was but a tiny lass.  Nanuschka is the one that stuck with me and my mom still uses it from time to time.

E-lna, El-na, El-naaa, Eln-aaaa – more about that later!

I am so glad my parents used their full mental capacity when naming me.  Long standing tradition is to name the first girl after her grandmother on her mother’s side.  I am so glad they decided against Elsie Jacomina – I would definitely have wanted to change it!  So, thanks mom, thanks dad, you saved me a lifetime of struggles.

Google “Elna” and you find countless results of, you guessed it, sewing machines!  No important world changing historians, no famous towns or places.  Just sewing machines.  I choose to look on the bright side.  Luke at this picture:

elna

 

Do you see all the buttons and knobs?  This little machine is as multi-faceted as I am.  I have layers!

I have two very funny name moments, which I will share with you:

Walking in Tygervalley Centre one day, Luke saw the Elna Shop.  He turned to me very excited “Mommy, we found your job” and he insisted to go in.  He looked at every single machine and was just blown away by the fact that they each bore my name.  After a while it dawned on him: “Mommy,  you should sue these guys.  They are using your name without paying you!”  If only I could get the royalties….

For the second one I am going to share something with you that only 1 or 2 people know about.  When you read this, don’t judge me, I am only human!

When we were trying to conceive Luke, a herbalist told me to smoke the green stuff once a week.  True as bob, 8 weeks later I was 6 weeks pregnant.  One day while “under the influence” I started to ponder about me name.  I don’t know how long it lasted, but for a good while I just sat there sounding out my name – out loud.

E-lna, El-na, El-naaa, Eln-aaaa.

It sounded so very foreign and exotic, rolling of my tongue.  It may not sound that funny to you, but it still gives me the giggles to this day.  In fact, when I read the prompt that was the first thing that came to mind.

Would I change it, naaaah, I’ll hang on to it.  Some people took a long time to come up with the name when I came to be and it would be an insult to their time and love.

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

19 thoughts on ““Nanuschka” is not my real name”

  1. Great story, very funny 🙂 and love the last line also, I often don’t think of my name that way, someone taking the time to give me my name. Thanks

  2. Tygervalley girl, huh? I used to work there back in my high school days 😉 Also, any name starts sounding exotic if you say it over and over again, but Elna is a good one 😀

  3. Pingback: Hey! Say My Name

Say something, you know you want to!

