The Zone

Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

Do you know that feeling when you have something on your mind 24/7? It consumes every thought, even your dreams. You go to sleep thinking about it, you dream about it, you wake up with it right there in front of you mind’s eye. Don’t you also wish that sometimes you could have the ability to just stop thinking for an hour or two?

We all have different places to find mental solitude. I have tried meditation, but it only works when I already am in a good place. Reading becomes frustrating as I have to keep reading and re-reading, sometimes chapters! Walking gets my heart rate up, but I often end up getting lost in the surroundings as opposed to actually figuring out the problem.

For me mental solitude lies in Sudoku. Numbers have always just made sense to me. When I sit there with 81 little blocks staring at me, I find peace. I guess it’s the order that goes with arranging 9 little numbers to perfectly fit in rows and columns and squares that helps me to put my thoughts into order too. After an hour or two of Sudoku puzzles, I am able to think clearly and come up with a workable solution or two. During my divorce I went through roughly 100 puzzles a day and I definitely think that Sudoku was my saving grace!

Want to give it a try? Visit krazydad for loads of free printable Sudoku’s ranging in difficulty levels ranging from children to Master.

Where do you find your zone?

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “The Zone”

  1. I keep meaning to try Sudoku but I’m too scared. I’m really bad with numbers. Can’t remember them, can’t type them in the correct order. My mental arithmetic is poor to say the least! I think Suduku is more about patterns than maths, but even so 😦

    1. You really should try. It’s got nothing to do with math and is merely patterns. You also get some varieties that have letters instead of the numbers.

    1. The effects of this storm are devastating. I’m sitting at home, writing a post exactly about that. I can’t stop thinking about the thousands of people displaced by the storm. We have so much to be grateful for and there is so much to be done.

  2. I actually have a Sudoku app on my phone. I always think of you when I open it – hahaha!
    I don’t know if I would call it a zone, but I do some of my best thinking in the bath – with or without water, that actually makes no difference to me. It’s a happy place. 🙂

Say something, you know you want to!

