Ulale Kakuhle!

Who knew languages could be so much fun!

I grew up Afrikaans, but found a love for English very early. I completely embraced the language and made it my own to the point where, when Luke was born, I decided he will be raised English.

Jacques is as Afrikaans as you can get.

Luke is a proper little English man. Even the way he drinks his tea is as proper as you can get. On Wednesday he will be writing his Afrikaans exam and the poor little man is really struggling with it. In an attempt to help him learn, we have a rule to only speak Afrikaans at home for two hours every night. It doesn’t seem to be enough, so today I told him that until Wednesday we will only be speaking Afrikaans at home. Needless to say he was not very enthusiastic about this.

So where is the fun part you ask? Xhosa added to our household, that is where the fun was!

Since my experience with Chippa on Thursday, I have seriously taken up the task of learning Xhosa. I’ve printed a course and some language modules and phrases. I’ve decided to focus on 10 phrases at a time and have been furiously studying them all weekend. At some point this evening Luke came across the papers and asked in broken Afrikaans whether I now knew how to speak Xhosa. I, very proudly, rambled off my ten phrases, which was met with a very surprised Yoh! from Luke. While Jacques and I were preparing dinner Luke took it upon himself to start practicing, with hilarious effects!

Every time I asked him something he replied with “Wag so bietjie” (wait a moment) then page through until he could find a suitable phrase, which he would then read out in Xhosa! He had us all in stitches. When he finally had enough he said “Ulale Kakuhle Goggo” and walked away. He refused to give me the translation. After searching and searching I finally figured out it means good night mother. Looks like I will have to invest in the Afrikaans Englisg Xhosa Zulu Guide by Isabel Uys!

So with that it’s Ulale Kakhuhle to you too!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Ulale Kakuhle!”

  1. That’s fantastic. I read it all to my husband as well. I love languages, so I hope you do well with it. Wish your son good luck with his exams from us. Though with all your help he probably won’t be needing luck 🙂

Say something, you know you want to!

