Tourist Trap

What’s your dream tourist destination — either a place you’ve been and loved, or a place you’d love to visit? What about it speaks to you?

kilimanjaro

I have never been outside of South Africa.  Heck, I have never even flown, so my Bucket List is pretty much flooded with places to see before I die.    The world will have to wait as the call of Mother Africa beckons loud and clear.  My game plan is as such:  Wait until Luke finishes school (7 years to go) and then backpack through South Africa, Africa is to be explored next and finally, the rest of the world.

The biggest and scariest by far is Kilimanjaro.  Those who know find this strange, because I HATE BEING COLD!

In 2011 I saw 127 Hours for the first time and it was then that my curiosity with man’s ability started.  What are we really capable of?  I can’t help but wonder whether I will be able to sever my arm if I managed to get it stuck through a twisted serious of events.  If my only salvation was crossing a lake with no life raft or anything else, would I be able to find the courage to swim?  (Insert crazy dark giggle !).  Some will say that I am tempting fate, but I really can’t wait to see what I truly am capable of.

Thus, my fascination with Kilimanjaro.  It is written on my Bucket List in big, red letters.  I will conquer you sir.  Your snow and icy blizzards will not deter me.  I will stand atop your peaks and look at the world below my feet.  Watch out, I’m coming!

kilimanjaro1

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

15 thoughts on “Tourist Trap”

  1. I know a couple of people that conqured Kilimanjaro and they said it was liberating and exlierating and cold. Good luck with that and all the other items on your bucket list.

  2. Make that mole-hill your bitch, Petunia! I have no doubt you can do it if it’s something that you really want. (even in the cold)

Say something, you know you want to!

