Take Care!

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Urgh, I am really bad at this!  Asking for help that is.  I will give of myself until I’m about to fall over, but asking for help.  Eish, that is a problem!  This picture from writeclicksave describes me very well:

igiveandgive-600x569

You know that saying ‘When you want something done right, do it yourself’?  Well, if you look it up in the dictionary, I’m pretty sure you’ll find a photo of me next to it!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a control-freak, I just like it when things are done the right way, the first time.  Being self-reliant, stubborn and independent is a quality which drives the people close to me up the walls and have been reprimanded about this on countless occasions.

Take last weekend for instance.  It was pouring down with rain and we were left with watching TV as the only option.  I got bored with this and decided that reading was a better option.  The book I’m busy with was lying on the other of the couch, next to Jacques.  Instead of just asking him to pass it to me, I got up and walked around him to pick it up.  “Why don’t you just ask me?” he said.  I was (again) sort of perplexed.  I simply didn’t think of asking.  Why should I ask if I am perfectly capable of just doing it myself?  A break in the rain and I decided to take a walk to the shop, instead of just asking the neighbors whether they are going.  Result:  me, drenched, getting offered a lift by the neighbor.  “Why didn’t you ask?”  Urgh, I hate asking for stuff!

cigarettes

I get grumpy when I feel like I am not allowed to or am incapable of doing something.  If you want me to do something, tell me that I can’t do it.  It is this very stupid stubbornness which made me take up smoking!  Let me explain.  When I was 18 my boyfriend at the time and all our friends were smokers.  One day I asked him for a cigarette.  He was furious and told me that if I start smoking he will leave me.  Hypocrite!  Not being one who takes well to this, I marched to the shop and bought my first packet of cigarettes.  Not knowing anything about cigarettes at the time, I opted for the nicest looking pack and Gauloises Blonds it was.  I coughed for an hour after I lit up, but unfortunately the habit stuck!  Stupid girl!

This makes me a very, very, very bad patient.  I hate being catered for and am forever getting up to fetch things or make tea or do stuff.  I can’t stand it when people, women especially, say they are incapable of doing something.  Just do it.  Find a way.  There is always a way!

Is being self-reliant such a bad thing really?  Even worse, is it a matter of misplaced pride?  I am a Leo after all!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

20 thoughts on “Take Care!”

  1. Someone (friend, family, or whoever): How are you
    Me: Not bad, thank you
    Standard answer, no matter what predicament i’m in or how bad I really feel.
    I’m very slowly learning to accept help now. But it takes some effort. I could do with some help with that 🙂

    1. Yip, that’s pretty much me too! Unfortunately my mom and dad knows me all too well and can immediately tell when I’m not giving them the whole story. I guess it’s also a thing of not wanting to owe someone something?

  2. I know the feeling – it’s easier to support than ask for the same. When completing a recent move, I stubbornly stole away during the early hours to avoid asking for help. When my first visitor arrived, he seemed disappointed and said, ‘you know some of us were looking forward to returning the favor?’ Found a reason to ask his help and it’s something I work on still.

  3. I completely get this…being Leo as well of course. 😉
    If I do actually get to the point where I feel the NEED to ask for help, you better know that it’s serious…and that I really need it.

Say something, you know you want to!

