Being a Humeleon must be exhausting!

humeleonsHumeleons in action

Photo: Repella Bug Spray advertisement

Today’s Note from the Universe is one that is very close to my heart:

Do you know how to give folks what they most, most, most want from you, without even asking them what it is? In all regards, just be yourself.  That’s what they were after when they manifested you into their lives.

Humeleons must be the most intelligent beings in the Universe.  It baffles my mind how they remember which persona to have in which company.  I find it absolutely fascinating how someone can change from being one person (in front of their boss for instance) to someone completely different when they bump into an old school friend.  Have you noticed?  It really irks me!   I could never understand why people need to change “who” they are according to the company they are in.

I am the girl next door – what you see is what you get.  It just makes life so much easier.  I don’t have to pretend to be anything I’m not and then remember who I said what to.  Gosh, it must be so exhausting.

When you meet someone, the first 6 months forms the foundation for that relationship, which is why it is very important to know your Humeleons well!  Humeleons spread their footprints through our lives’  in 3 basic groups:

  1. The ones who are your “friends” – Now, if you meet someone and after a month or six you realize that they are nothing but a bag of BS, you send them merrily on their way and carry on with your life.  Most of the time it leaves you with nothing but a sense of “whatever loser!” and you are able to giggle at the idiocy of it all.
  2. The ones who leaves you feeling robbed – These slippery critters are dangerous ones and will do and say whatever they need to in order to con you out of something.  They are generally speaking related to the leech family and will stick around as long as there is something for them to gain from the relationship – be it financial, emotional, materialistic, anything.  These will leave you angry, poorer in some way or another and, quite often, disappointed in yourself that you were not able to spot it sooner.
  3. The final group is the toughest ones to crack and more often than not, the ones who leave the most broken hearts in their trail.  You meet someone, you become friends, you fall in love.  It is the classic boy-meets-girl fun fest.  The problem comes in when the butterflies in the pit of your stomach decides to take a breather and the fairy dust produced by their wings settles down.  When you start listening with your head as opposed to your heart.  When the “true colors” comes out.  It does not happen overnight.  It’s a slow and steady poison that infiltrates the relationship.  By this time you are head over heels in love and a terrible internal battle ensues.  You feel cheated and angry; denial kicks in.  You do everything in your power to convince yourself that a) no you were not stupid to belief all the BS in the beginning and b) it is not your fault.  When you finally realize that you are in the company of this critter it is too late to walk out without a broken heart.

I have never been able to understand the insecurities that goes with trying or pretending to be something you are not.  The problem is that, despite the fact that we know about these critters, we are often blinded by circumstance or emotion from spotting them before it is too late.  I’m not saying that you should regard everyone with suspicion to see whether they are Humeleon or not, but when it comes to matters of the heart, trust your 6th sense and listen to your head, quite your heart for a moment and listen to your head.  You will end up saving yourself a lot of pain.

Getting back to the Note from the Universe, being yourself is the biggest favor you could do yourself and society in general.  People will always know where they stand with you and what to expect from you.

If you are new to this, try it, you might just be surprised to see that people actually appreciate you more when they actually know what they are dealing with!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “Being a Humeleon must be exhausting!”

  1. Some people have to be humeleons because they’re basically nasty and if they acted like that in front of their boss they’d be fired.
    Then they’d be nasty AND broke.

    1. Ouch! Made me laugh though: being nasty and broke, sounds bad! Do you really think some people are just nasty for the sake of being nasty or, even worse, born nasty? It saddens me to think that someone can go through life just nasty all the time 😦 Shame, I pity them

      1. A chap and his ex just went to prison in the UK for plotting to kill the new girlfriend (and then carrying it out) for the insurance money. If that’s not nasty, I don’t know what is.
        Then of course there’s your standard bully. Plenty of those around of all ages 😦

        1. True, too many of them around. I’m busy reading “We have to talk about Kevin” in my quest to try and figure out why people do such things. I can’t believe that someone is born “bad”.

Say something, you know you want to!

