I promise to never complain about a photo again!

My brother, sister and myself as part of a wedding party

My brother, sister and myself as part of a wedding party

Today I received my technology rescue, the one I have been praying for. The laptop my dad and his wife bought me arrived from the Free State, lovingly packaged by my mom. Along came a book too: Paulo Coelho’s The Zahir. Yay, but for once, the book will have to wait.

I switched on the laptop eager to get started, but that is where the waterworks started. Instead of a desktop image, there was a message from my mom:

“My dear Nanuschka, may this laptop be the start of great things for you. May you one day win the Nobel prize for all the injustices you try and find. May every word you type be to God’s glory and may He bless you in every moment. I am so proud of you!”

What I discovered on the laptop changed my view of photos forever. I have never been a huge fan of photos. I would much rather be behind the shutter capturing the moment than being in the moment. My mom has always been the one to insist on photos. Every event, every occasion had a reason for a photo to be taken. Her requests for photos at these times are always met by complaints, sighs and long faces. It will never happen again. I will be smiling and jumping the queue to get their first.

The photos on there are an heirloom of memories; a treasure chest of family history. I found photos of my brother, sister and myself; photos of my parents dating back to their wedding day in 1972. To the wedding day photo’s Luke commented: Gosh, those guys really got stuck in the 70’s! There are precious, precious photos of Luke – his entire life captured on film. I found photos of my grandparents, my childhood home, my first Christmas tree(!), Saartjie (the cleaner employed by my gran for as long as I can remember). There were even photos of celebrities, gala events and sports teams – all captured by my mom. Old black and white prints of wedding days before color film and antique photos of my grandfather’s first car and first motorbike. It was the first time I had been able to show Luke a picture of my grandfather – it would appear he looks like a German general of the Second World War.

Through these photos I remembered my Oupa getting ready for Sunday church, fights with my brother and moments of hysterical laughter with my sister. I remembered long late night talks with my mom and the smell of dad when he holds me to his chest.

Photos and stories are our links to the past. Treasure them. Without them we have nothing to stir up old memories. Through these photos I could share stories with Jacques and Luke tonight; stories that made me laugh and stories that made me cry.

Thank you to my dad and Theresia for making this day possible.

Thank you to my mom for always being the memory keeper of our family. I now understand!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

10 thoughts on “I promise to never complain about a photo again!”

  1. I had so many photos and had to get rid of so many. I couldn’t keep them all to take to Belgium and weeded them out. I now fear I may have tossed out some memories by doing this and I regret it now.
    Photos are very precious and important.

    1. I know the feeling. When our house burnt down I lost all the photos I had of Luke. Luckily my mom was clever enough to have copies og everything and now I have them back. Sorry about the ones you lost though 😦

  2. Natie, I’m so glad you liked the photo’s. You know the Lucas Maree song “Kiekies”? He says that photo’s is the encyclopedia of your existence — true words, hey?. Just for your info — there are many more, but I’ll put them om disk for you, OK? And this was a beautiful post on your new laptop!

  3. What a lovely message to find!
    I have recently come the the same realisation as you concerning photos, and am at the moment scanning in old photos and popping them up on the cloud (just in case), where hopefully the CIA can have fun going through them (allegedly).

    1. Ha-ha! The CIA will need some extra man-power to go through everything I received. Also started with up loading to cloud this morning. Its well worth the time and effort. Shoot! Should we be saying CIA? Don’t know if it’s a good idea. O well, should give them something to do.

Say something, you know you want to!

