Dancing in the rain

Photo: http://www.giftsofmotherhood.blogspot.com

Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on the roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

From signing in the rain…
“I’m singing in the rain, just singing in the rain”. As a child I used to love rainy days. Nothing beats the power of a summer thunder storm in the Free State or Highveld. You can see it coming; feel the electricity in the air. Suddenly the sun disappears and you know it’s time. The drum roll starts far off and builds up its crescendo until the rumbling clouds converge overhead, erupting in a deafening roar. We sit with bated breath, anxiously waiting for the lighting to strike. We made a game of it: who will spot it first?! The downpour begins and it’s time for fried apple and cinnamon pancakes with sweet, milky tea. Yum!!! It never lasted very long and soon we would be playing in the sun again. Birds appear, shaking dry their feathers; rain drops compete to see which can defy gravity for the longest, precariously dangling from spider webs. After such storms we would go into the garden to pick up fruit or vegetables which were knocked off by hail. There was a spot right at the back of the garden, behind the garage, where we would play. The clay-like soil was perfect for mud cakes and clay animals. I really loved those days.

…to crying in the rain….
The move to Cape Town in 2005 signalled a huge turnaround in my life. Not only had my sister just passed away, but it was also the beginning of the end in other regards. Unfortunately my love for rain remained in the Highveld. I love sunshine and, to me, rain was always followed by sunshine. Summer rains is the way it’s supposed to be. I thrive on sunshine, even if it is the bleak winter sun of the Free State struggling to break the grip of the cold; slowly melting away at the iced over taps. Cape Town of course is a horse of a different colour altogether. Winter rain – urgh! Cold and wet just does not work for me. The beautiful Cape sees very little sun during the winter months. Everything is dark and grey and wet and it just depresses me. I hate being cold, but being cold and wet. URGH!!!!!!!!!!! Have I mentioned that I don’t enjoy winter in Cape Town? Sorry, I have. Luckily we have fantastic wine farms and luckily I have learned to enjoy a glass of good red from time to time.

Rain is to a forest what tears are to the soul. It cleanses and washes away anything that shouldn’t be there. Have you noticed how crisp and clean everything looks after a good storm? The greens are greener and everything sparkles. “I’ll do my crying in the rain” is a song which I’ve come to love. Rain is the perfect disguise for crying. Just suit up and take a long walk. Let it all out, no-one could possibly know. It’s a triple-whammy: you get a good work out (the more emotional you get the faster you walk), you get to wash clean your spirit with tears, and no one can see the awful expression as tears stream down your cheeks.

…to learning to dance in the rain!
On Friday I made the startling realization that I have, sort of, come full circle and is once again ready to start enjoying the rain. “Instead of waiting for the storm to pass, learn to dance in the rain” – I just love this quote. It is pretty much one of the principles I live by. Sitting on the side-line, waiting for a storm to pass is the easy thing to do. Take charge of the situation and dance in the rain. More often than not you’ll find a solution faster and feel better about the situation overall. So let the winter bring on its unforgiving rain that falls down softly with no rumble or lightning. I am ready to listen at the patter once more, ready to draw circles in the foggy windows and jump over the puddles.

Right now, it’s a very rare sunny winter’s day in the beautiful Cape so we are off for a walk on the beach to soak up every last ray of sunshine.
How do you spend your rainy days?

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

7 thoughts on “Dancing in the rain”

  1. I love rain…and especially rain storms!

    As you know, here it’s easy to love rain. It usually come in little blitz atracks and then it’s gone again with a farewell rumble. Nicola and I actually do dance in the rain – it’s awesome!

    I didn’t mind the CT winter when I was there. It’s nice to have a green one instead of a cold and dry one like up here. Only thing is that I often ended up wearing damp clothes because drying laundry on chairs in front of a fireplace is not as effective as hanging them on the line in summer in that ever present “breeze”. 😉

  2. i have a request, and an opportunity for any of you bloggers who would like to dance in the rain with me. Request: kindly give me attribution on my quotation. I must do this to protect my copyright. Secondly, would you like t o help me with a Kickstarter.com venture? Both my art and quotations are in stores everywhere – and with the fan’s (crowd’s) help I think we could have a very successful campaign. Target iooks like it is turning around: I asked to work with community relations to co-create consumer driven philanthropy and advocacy :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UG-pZ-wzXxU. Please “like” the video and leave a comment – and if you’d like to help, I have tons of gifts for you. Also see my new book: DANCE YOUR DANCE, Believe You Can Fly.

Say something, you know you want to!

