Shape up or ship out

Photo: mollymediastudios.wordpress.com

Write a letter to the personality trait you like least, convincing it to shape up or ship out. Be as threatening, theatrical or thoroughly charming as is necessary to get the job done.

This one is a no-brainer for me!

Dear Mouth and Brain,

Quite frankly I am not sure which one of you I should be addressing so, for once, let us attempt some team effort at this one, OK?

Do you remember high school? That was the time, way back when, when I captained the debate team. That was the time when I was able to join a conversation and actually take part. Remember that? No?! Really?!?! Well it is a very definite part of your past.

You see, the fact that I can converse in my head is kind of useless to my everyday life. It impacts on my life, it impacts on my work and it, most definitely, impacts on my relationships. Brain, it’s all fair enough that you are able to play out the conversation on your own and come up with interesting and funny things to say. What happens when the words are sent to my mouth? Am I missing a filter somewhere or have my filters been clocked up? Why does the words disappear somewhere between you, dear brain, and my mouth, you guys need to come to the party here, please, I’m begging!?

Words, when give in print does not help when I am in the moment of loving banter or trying to make a sales pitch or in the heat of an argument! At those times I need to be able to express the sentences running through my head.

It is not a difficult thing either, I promise you!

Some people just babble on and on and on. Even when I try to tell them to just hush it for a second, you fail me and I am forced to keep listening until it fear that my head might explode.

A wise man once said: the ability to speak does not make you intelligent. Well, let me stifle your fears. No one will ever fear me to be too intelligent if I am able to converse. Instead, you are succeeding in making them think I am rather dim-witted! Do you see what you are doing?
I cannot threaten you for thoughts will forever run through my mind. You have me there. I can only ask, very nicely:

PLEASE COME TO THE PARTY! I NEED YOU IN MY LIFE! COME BACK TO ME! COME OUT FROM WHEREVER YOU MAY BE HIDING! COME OUT AND LET ME SPEAK!

Regards
Me

PS: It would be much appreciated if you could hurry up about this!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Shape up or ship out”

Say something, you know you want to!

