The Moral Playground

Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

My morals are something that I will fight for; tooth and nail, I will fight to the grave to protect what I stand for.  Morals, integrity and self-respect are, to me, something that goes hand in hand.  You can simply not have the one without the other.  Malcolm X said it best:

stand

Where do they come from?

I suppose morals come from everything that we experience in life.  Experiences, which we can either learn from or suffer under.  In life, I have chosen to observe and learn.

  • My faith taught me about grace, compassion and understanding.
  • My grandfather and grandmother taught me what I needed to know about love and marriage.  It is their image which will forever be the picture I hold dear of what a marriage should be like.
  • My mother taught me about always doing the right thing.  No matter were you are in life, no matter how bad things are going, you always do the right thing.
  • My father taught me about hard work and dedication (and never being late).
  • A very bad man once told me that I, like a typical woman, will never be good enough for anything other than sex – in that he taught me to treasure my body.  In defiance of him, I am proud to say that, at the age of 35, I have only had three boyfriends.

How do you deal with those who don’t share it?

Each to his own.  Although it breaks my heart to see how parents blatantly disregard the importance of teaching their kids moral values, it is not something that we can impose on someone.  No matter what, I can not force anyone to have better values.

My claws come out and my eyes shoot fire if you dare question my values though.  I can remember one or two people in the past who have tried to question my values.  They left in a hurry with tales between the legs.  I am of the opinion that, if your values are questionable in any way, you have no right whatsoever to cross-question me on mine.  Don’t get me wrong, I never get onto a moral high-horse and pretend to be better than anyone.  I only stand firm for what I believe in.  If it does not suit you or your lifestyle, well then we are simply not meant to spend any time together.

What others had to say:

  1. Daily Prompt: Morality Play | Borneo Rainbow
  2. Morality Play | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. Weekly Phoneography: Population |
  4. The Coin in My Hand | Daily Prompt: Morality Play | likereadingontrains
  5. 24|6 Daily Prompt: Morality Play | family photos food & craft
  6. Daily Prompt: Morality Play « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Daily Prompt: Morality Play All In The Family | Mindful Splatter
  8. Desinence | clarior e tenebris
  9. Desinence | clarior e tenebris
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

13 thoughts on “The Moral Playground”

  1. Mmm…I wish it was that straight forward for me. I do have a solid set of moral values, but some of them I had to establish the hard way. It’s been an interesting ride! 😉

    I guess that’s why I try to give people the space they need if I think they’re still going through a journey like that. Sometimes, you take the scenic route instead of the straight and narrow. In general I’m pretty tolerant towards people who don’t dance to the same beat as I do, as long as they don’t try to make me dance to theirs AND as long as they don’t endanger the people I love and the things I hold dear in the process of finding out what’s important to them, and what they consider to be fair treatment of other people.

Say something, you know you want to!

