21st Century Citizen

Do you belong in this day and age? Do you feel comfortable being a citizen of the 21st-century? If you do, explain why — and if you don’t, when in human history would you rather be?

city

Photo: http://fostercityblog.com/2013/03/then-and-now/

Sometimes I miss the world as it was when I was a child.  I look at children today and pity them.  When technology is down, it’s as if they don’t really know what to do to occupy the time.  In my time (gosh, that makes me sound so very old!), the world was our playground.  We could play outside whenever we wanted.  We had dolls and books for rainy days and TV was restricted to half an hour every day.  I remember my sister and myself listening in on phone calls – all phones were still routed through a central switchboard with an old lady at the other end “Nommer Asseblief?” (Number please?) and I miss the simplicity of those days.

On the other hand however, I am so grateful for where we are in terms of technology.  It sometimes is a curse, but can you imagine how difficult it would be to do our work without internet, email, etc?  It would be a nightmare.  Not to mention writing.  I have so much respect for Shakespeare, Hemingway and the likes.  How they managed to become famous without the internet boggles my mind.

So, generally speaking, I think I am pretty happy to be happy to live in the now!

Here are what 25 other bloggers had to say:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen – show us MODERN. | masadiso79’s Blog
  2. Daily Prompt: Modern | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  3. 21st Century Citizen | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen « Mama Bear Musings
  5. Abandoned, but for the sun and moon above |
  6. 21st Century Cat lives
  7. Catherine B.’s Blog | 21st Century Woman | Daily Prompt | Modern
  8. Product of my environment | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
  9. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen / Modern | Postcards from
  10. RUSSIA’S REWIND | Standing Ovation, Seated
  11. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | brent’s iPhone 4S & japan
  13. I Could Be King And Drive a ‘49 Packard | The Jittery Goat
  14. Back When I Was Young: Movie theatres were BYOF | DCMontreal
  15. 1984… | thoughtsofrkh
  16. What is Modern to You May Not Be Modern to Me [Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen] | unknowinglee
  17. Born in the wrong decade | chaotic keyboard
  18. Imagination fodder | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  19. 21st Century | thelissachronicles
  20. 21st Century Citizen: Uncomfortable Me | Khana’s Web
  21. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Faraziyya
  22. Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | iChristian
  23. Lydablogger | Being Modern – I Belong
  24. Lydablogger | Being Socially Modern
  25. “Can I borrow a cup of cornmeal..” | Relax…
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

Say something, you know you want to!

