Patience…Please….

patience

Tell us a moment or an incident that you treasure – not necessarily because it brought you happiness, but because it taught you something about yourself.

I guess The Universe was trying to teach me some patience today, something which I don’t have a lot of to start with, which would explain why you are reading this.  I had a very different response in mind for today’s prompt than what you are reading now.

I woke up this morning to a blank BlackBerry.  No new e-mails, no comments, no notifications, nothing.  Just a screen that reads “Grouping Messages”.  Turns out the game Luke downloaded and deleted also messed up the device firmware.  Luckily I back up daily, so once at the office I was able to restore to yesterday and … still no email service?!?  Vodacom, for some obscure reason decided that my BlackBerry service, which was due to expire tomorrow, already expired so I had to renew one day early.  No biggy, WHOOSA moment later and service reactivated I’m ready to go, but still no emails.  After spending 45 minutes on the line with the Contact Centre they were able to figure it out and bliss, the emails come rolling in.

Next the one computer at the office came up with an “Internet Security” pop-up.  Please, if you are reading this, do not click on any Internet Security pop-up thingy that jumps up at you.  It is designed to look like a Windows system message, but also to destroy your system.  Once you click on this, it releases Trojan upon Trojan on your system.  When it reached the point that he would click on Outlook or Google Chrome, just for it to automatically close again, he decided to call in the powers that be (read: me), since I am the only one at the office who is not somewhat technologically challenged.  Nothing was working.  Safemode – forget about it.  Safemode with command prompt – forget about it.  Msconfig – forget about.  System Restore – forget about it.  It took me the better part of the afternoon to sort it out and 25 Trojan threats later, he was ready to get back to work, just in time for us to go home.

This weekend we have the Winter Wonderland Carnival Weekend in town so Luke and I decided to go to Spur to watch the sunset and the build up of excitement as everyone gets ready for the parade.  While Luke mastered the Crazy Climb Wall I prepared my post, which is now not happening.  First it was a struggle to get connected to the Wi-Fi.  Regardless of how many times we entered the correct password, it just wouldn’t budge.  After about 10 minutes we finally got it connected, then just as I was about to click submit, battery died.  No biggy, put laptop on charge, start system up and …. it’s gone.

So now, here I am, post gone, connected to Wi-Fi, posting this one.

Universe, this is not the best way to teach me patience.  Please, go gentle on me.  Eish, I will have to work harder at that virtue.

Luke and I are off to the Winter Wonderland, pictures and post to follow tomorrow, if technology does not fail me again!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

10 thoughts on “Patience…Please….”

  1. Wow, sounds like you had a major technofail today 😦
    I bet when you got home you were afraid to switch on the TV or use the toaster or whatever in case it randomly caught fire!
    Glad you made it through OK 🙂

  2. I find that some days, everything you touch (technology wise anyway) turns to crap…and the more upset you get, the less it works. 😉

Say something, you know you want to!

