The Road Less Traveled

Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

road

I have written on The Road Less Traveled before, although from a different perspective.

There have been quite a few “points of no return” in my life and I am really struggling to find one to pinpoint for this prompt.

I guess you could say it was a momentous day when I had the choice at 13 whether I want to go live with my mom or my dad.  My brother was already out the house, my sister opted to go live with my dad and I chose to stay with my mom.

Also you could say that it was a turning point when, at 18 halfway through my matric year, I decided to move to Johannesburg – on my own.

Another big one was in 2011 when I realized that I have died on the inside and, despite the fact that we really do love each other, our marriage can not be saved.  That is a big decision right there; 12 years of marriage is not something to snort at, but sometimes you have to do what is right for you.

A lot happened in my life.  Not all good, but more importantly, not all bad.  I like to think that everything that happened, happened for a reason.  All of those event shaped me into the person I am today.  Through it all I had God’s love and grace over me, and that is what has given me the strength to carry on.

I am not one to sit and ponder about “what could have been”.  Thus the reason why I can’t pinpoint a specific situation for this prompt.

Yesterday is gone, never to be seen again.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed.  The only thing you are certain of is right now.  Live your life in a way that would make right now the most important, the best moment of your life.  Learn from the past, but don’t hold on to it.  Don’t worry about what could have been, you could never really know the outcome.

You are where you are now, right at this moment, as a result of a lot of circumstance and choices you have made.  Contemplating about what could have been is just torture.  You can not go back and make something “un-happen”.  Regardless of how much you would like to, you can not go back and retract those words or actions.

If you make today count, yesterday and tomorrow loses its power and simply does not matter.

I am alive now, I have this day and for that I am grateful.

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “The Road Less Traveled”

Say something, you know you want to!

