A rolling stone

If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

rolling stone

I have always had a wandering soul and I’m pretty sure that I was born 20 years too late.  Hippie-ness is definitely in my blood.  Even though I love technology and don’t ever leave home without my Blackberry and / or laptop, I’ve never been really materialistic.  I have no driving obsession to own a six bedroom home filled to the brim with the best furnishings and latest technology.

I would take up the opportunity to live a nomadic life at the first opportunity.  As a matter of fact, I have only 8 years left until Luke is finished with school and we plan to do just that once he leaves home.  Our plan is to buy a motor-home and just travel.  There is no definitely plan for where we want to go or what we want to do.  I’ve always found the idea of playing spin-the-bottle on a map very attractive.  Our country and continent have so much to offer and I believe that it is about enjoying the journey, not the outcome.

For me, something like that would be a learning curve.  Not only for us, but also for the people we would meet.  I look at it as an opportunity to inspire, motivate and inform.  One thing I would definitely love to do is to learn a traditional dance, eat a traditional meal and wear traditional clothing while living with each groups and tribes we cross paths with.

Jacques and I know a couple, deep in their 60’s they bought a motor-home and all they do is travel the country.  The go from town to town and map their journeys out on a large format map.  The highlighted lines crisscross across South Africa and their photos and diaries holds treasure upon treasure of interesting stories.  They are happier than anyone I know and the absolute joy and peace in their souls shine through.  They are a huge inspiration to us and I can’t wait to get there!

Here are what some other bloggers had to say on the prompt:

  1. My Life is a Rolling Stone (with no commitments): Daily Prompt | Texan in Tokyo
  2. Dogwalking, Bright light, Harsh shadows |
  3. Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Oh, Him And Her And Them? They’re Just My Home… | All Those Small Things
  5. Lost in the Thought of Africa | Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone | likereadingontrains
  6. Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Nomadic life: the importance of a base | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  8. Daily Prompt – Rolling Stone | Kate Murray
  9. I’ll go with you | clarior e tenebris
  10. Daily Prompt: Rolling Stone ~ #photography | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  11. Papa was a Rolling Stone… | The Rider
  12. Adventures in Paradise | The Jittery Goat
  13. Semi-permanence and the expat | A Girl and Her Travels
  14. Daily Prompt: Travel « Vicariously Poetic
  15. Let’s go | Spunky Wayfarer
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “A rolling stone”

  1. Nope, this isn’t what I desire even though I have gypsy blood in my veins. I need a home base and I think it’s because of my mother. She loved moving house. Every 3 to 5 years or so she has this compelling drive to move to a new house. I hated it.
    I want a safe, loving home. A house where I can grow old and have memories and all those movie cliché things. The oddest thing is the harder I work at this, the further away it seems to slip. Fate seems to have different ideas.
    We had the perfect house – cellar, old, mansion sized but things happened and we decided to move to another country and leave it all behind.
    I will admit to having an insatiable itch for travelling but love the security of knowing there’s a place – a house – I can go back to that I call home.

    1. That is a different, but nice way to look at it. Coming to think of it, it would be nice to having something which you can call home when body and soul becomes weary of it all. Thanks!

Say something, you know you want to!

