Bartering to live

If the world worked on a barter system, how would you fare? Would you have services to barter? Would you be successful, or would you struggle?

barter

http://www.quora.com/Balaji-Viswanathan-2/answers/Barter-System

We had somewhat of a “dop-stelsel” at work last week with the IT guy next door.  The “dop-stelsel” refers to a, less than popular, system used during the Apartheid years, whereby workers (on wine farms and such) were paid with drink instead of receiving wages.  As mentioned last week, we had some major IT fails and I was the one to sort it out.  By the time I reached the end of my tether, I went to the IT-guy next door and asked for advice, which he gladly gave.  We, in turn, paid him with a bottle of good Cabernet.  The next day, my IT woes continued and Mr IT Guy Next Door was paid with a bottle of really good Shiraz.  See, dop-stelsel works, from time to time!

If, however, I had to barter for a living, I’m afraid I wouldn’t get very far.  I’m way too giving and negotiations have never been my strong point.  What skills could I offer?  I suppose I could write, but I think my biggest one would be listening and giving advice.  My poster would look something like this:

lady at the waterside

http://www.painting-palace.com

Here is what other bloggers had to say:

  1. Daily Prompt: Skill | Postcards from
  2. Barter System | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. 8 july Daily Prompt: Barter System | family photos food & craft
  4. Daily Prompt: Skill | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  5. Daily Post – Barter System | Kate Murray
  6. Daily Prompt: Barter System | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. Daily Prompt: Barter System « Mama Bear Musings
  8. Daily Prompt: Barter System – show us SKILL. | masadiso79’s Blog
  9. Daily Prompt: Jack Of All Trades | Mindful Splatter
  10. Give and Let Give. | ayimas
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Bartering to live”

Say something, you know you want to!

