Back to School

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

boutros-boutros-ghali

I am one of those “freaks” who really would not mind going back to school.  The other day we tried to explain the concept to Luke:

When you are in school, you wake up, get dressed (in the clothes already set out for you), eat breakfast in bed, brush your teeth and hair and go to school.  Once there, you spend time with your friends, get two breaks in which you get to eat the lunch, which was packed for you.  O yes, you need to apply your brain for about 6 hours of that time too.  You go home and spend, at most, 2 hours on homework and then you get to play until dinner is set out for you before you are taken to bed and tucked in with a story.  Add to that the fact that you get no less than four holidays per year!  Bliss!

For some odd reason, he just can’t seem to grasp the concept.  Hey, we were all there once, right?

Heck, I would go back to school any day!  What subject would I master?

For starters, I would look at final year as exactly that: my final year to put in my best effort, to study like there is no tomorrow and achieve the best possible marks.

I would definitely want to revisit Grade 7 and opt to continue with History as an elected subject.  If I knew then what I know now, Mr Joubert with his yellow mustache and teeth and his liking for spanking girls (yes, corporal punishment was still allowed) and Boutros Boutros Ghali, would not have deterred me and I would have carried on with History.  I regret not having pursued it, as there is so much about history that I simply don’t know.  Silly old perv completely turned me off history and I missed out!

Thank goodness for Google and Wikipedia!  Now I get to learn all I want about the subject, without a smelly perv staring over my shoulder!

What other bloggers would want to master:

  1. Daily Prompt: Back to School | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. Daily Prompt: Back to School | Black and White Heart
  3. Photography | Daily Prompt: Back to School | Being a Huntress
  4. Daily Prompt: Back to School | Life is great
  5. Potions, Anyone? | windandlaughter
  6. Back to School | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. If I am back to school…. | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  8. Back to School | The Coffee Darling
  9. Science Journalism, yay! | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
  10. Daily Prompt: Back To School | suzie81’s Blog
  11. Daily Prompt: Back to School | I Read Encyclopedias for Fun
  12. Daily Prompt: Back to School | Retired2Travel
  13. Sincerely, Your Bitch for Life | My Beautiful Breakdown
  14. Master Mind [Daily Prompt: Back to School] | unknowinglee
  15. What I Would Master | dreamingforme
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Back to School”

  1. I wouldn’t go back to school if you paid me. University, definitely. School, no way.
    Wednesday afternoon – Triple Latin. TRIPLE Latin. Need I say more?

Say something, you know you want to!

