Pat on the back

Tell someone you’re proud of just how proud you are.

luka

My Luka-boo

You have been always been a little chatter box and can talk the ears of an elephant!  Imagine our surprise when your Grade 1 teacher (and every teacher after that) told us that you are very reserved in class!  For the past five years I have had to endure teachers telling me that they need to drag answers out of you and that you would never put your hand up to answer a question.  Year after year they keep complaining that you can’t focus or sit still in class.  I have had to hear countless times that you are disruptive in class as you keep chatting to friends, but don’t want to participate in class discussions.  Do you remember how many times we’ve spoken about this?

Then came Grade 5 with more subjects, more assignments and more responsibility.  Of course it also meant you having to stay after school for detention.  We tried all forms of discipline and it would work for two, maybe three days and then we were back to square one.  I honestly thought that I was failing you  miserably as a parent and that there was no hope left.

Then we discovered Mindset and out world was turned upside down, hey?

Your report card came and I nearly jumped through the roof 🙂 but we still had the dreaded parent-teacher meetings ahead of us 😦

I sat outside each class, nervously waiting on my turn, and watched as parent after parent departed with long faces.  My turn came and I kept our tablets secret, because I first wanted to hear what they had to say.

“Luke has suddenly started to blossom into a child which truly reflects his intellect”

“Luke has changed and is suddenly offering answers, every time”

“Luke has become a joy to have in the classroom”

“Luke has undergone a huge change during the holidays and he has not once been written up for disruptive behavior”

Then I brought out the trump-card: Mindset!  They were all united in saying that, whatever happens, I should not stop giving the tablets to you.  the deputy-headmaster even said that he has seen a bigger change in your attitude, behavior and performance than on any child who was ever placed on Ritalin.

Victory!!!

My angel, I am so proud of you!  I cried all the way home and still want to cry when I think about everything we have been through to get here.

My trooper, you soldier on and finally we will be able to see what you are really capably of!

I am proud of you sweetie-pie!

 

Some proud bloggers:

  1. Political Anomaly: The Peculiar Case of Jose Mujica | I am Mike Obiora
  2. This is how we weigh the dog | weliveinaflat
  3. Gratitude to an Angel | In Harmony
  4. Pat on the Back | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  5. Kids |tanka| | STAIN
  6. Abstract | Kunsten
  7. Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back | George and Nigel
  9. Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back – show us SUCCESS. | masadiso79’s Blog
  10. Reach for you Military Dream | Daily Prompt: Pat on the Back | Being a Huntress
  11. Daily Post: Pat on the Back | I Work for a Jerk
  12. Pat on the Back | Motherhood and Beyond
  13. Sara’s Success | clarior e tenebris
  14. You’re on the Right Track | King Jeremy Chronicles
  15. A Successful day… | The Rider
Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “Pat on the back”

Say something, you know you want to!

