Starting with a Bang!

 

I hope you all had a fabulous New Year?  Mine was beyond awesome, had a great time, met some new people, good food, good dancing, just simply brilliant.

Then, right of the bat, on the morning of the 1st, the Universe presented me with a challenge.

download

Sailor and I went to the yacht club and literally as we arrived it went something like this:

One of the guys:  “Are you coming?  We are going to watch the rubber ducks.”

Me (having absolutely no idea what he actually meant):  “Sure, let’s go.” 

The Universe:  “Hahaha!  So, you said you are ready.  Let’s see, shall we?”

The next moment the other four in our group are darting down the jetty and onto a rubber duck.  My legs turned to jelly and I kind of just froze for a second.  Water?  Boat?  Me?  Uh-uh, no sirree.  I didn’t have much time and in a split second was reminded of my own words barely 24 hours ago.

“Universe, I am ready – ready to face whatever comes along with the poise and fiery passion of the Lioness queen that I am.”

OK, admittedly, I didn’t quite expect it to be shoved into my face on the first day of the year and kind of expected a bit of break for a couple of weeks, but OK.  In that split second I thought, what’s the worst that can happen and jumped right in.

Wow, it was amazing!  The rubber ducks which flew past us were taking part in a race from Jeffrey’s Bay to Strand (I think?) and we stopped just outside of the harbor mouth near one of the checkpoints.  The water was calm, the sun came down as it can only do on a perfect Cape Town summer’s day and the light breeze was playfully doing just enough to make the heat bearable.  We only spent about 20 minutes out there and, granted, it was really not that far out.  It was amazing and I sat back and allowed excitement and happiness to push away the fear little by little until I was having more fun than being scared.

The Universe, of course, decided that it was not enough for day.  As we entered the harbor mouth one by one the others started to jump in the water.  “Come on in” they said, “the water is nice” they said.  There I was thinking OK, the water is clear and calm.  I can see right to the bottom and my feet could probably touch ground.  Also, I didn’t want to be the last one on the boat to stay behind and have all of them teasing and begging and for me to come in so in I went.  The water was cold initially but the longer we stayed the better it got.  For the first couple of minutes I kind of just bobbed around in the water, waiting for the familiar panic to start gnawing at me, constricting my chest, leaving me ready to bolt out the water.  It didn’t come!  Well that was until Sailor (knowing full well of my fear) suddenly pointed at my feet and shouted: “Look!  A Sand Shark!”.  In the two seconds that followed until he started to laugh, a million things went through my head.  One of them was the very viable option of me running on the water back to the safety of the club house.  I could quite clearly see it to be possible with all the adrenaline rushing through my veins at that point.

Once back at the club everyone wanted to know if I will go back out again and I can quite happily say yes, I definitely will.

For the seasoned sailors on board it was nothing, quite boring actually, but for me it was a baby step towards getting over that irrational fear of mine.  What a thrilling adrenaline rush, amazing way to start the year.  And I loved every second of it.

So, what’s next…

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Starting with a Bang!”

  1. What a brave thing to do! Considering your fear of the water, I am amazed that you only hesitated for a minute! I wish I had the strength you possess.

Say something, you know you want to!

