Cover your ears!

Can’t Stand Me

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

 

Must say, I have never done either one of these, but I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt that I love love love singing.  I sing in the shower, I sing when I clean house, I sing when I walk and, much to my co-worker’s dismay, I sing while I work.  I sort of go into this zone where I shut out everyone and everyone except for the radio and merrily sing along while I draft reports, track, trace, investigate and analyse.

singing

Fortunately, I know that I can’t sing to save my life and usually nips it in the butt as soon as I realize that there are eardrums around, which might sustain permanent damage at the sound of my quacking.

A couple of years ago, Luke and I sat on the couch watching Idols and I (once again) whined:

If God knew how much I was going to love signing, why didn’t he just give me a good voice to go with the passion?

Luke (about 8 at the time) thinks for a bit and then pipes up;

Mom, I’ve got it!  When God made you he had to choose between making you clever and giving you a nice voice.  Obviously he decided to make you super clever ‘cause you really don’t sing so well.

The things kids say!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Cover your ears!”

Say something, you know you want to!

