AWE-some!

Remember my post about fear?  O yes, and the one where I said “Bring it on, I’m ready” and the one after that, where the Universe challenged that statement?  Well, today I received a Noddy Badge for bravery from the Universe and was blessed beyond what words can say.  I’m so happy right now I could actually cry.

Sailor invited me, after a certain amount of not so subtle hinting on my part, to go sailing for the club’s Opening Cruise.  After just about three weeks of incredibly strong South Easterly winds combined with heat wave conditions, we were all very happy when the weather decided to play along for the day.  It was just slightly overcast with a light to moderate breeze – not too hot nor too windy, just perfect.

 

We set out and pretty soon our attention was drawn to a flock of seagulls.  They were obviously feeding, flying up just to swoop down and feast on whatever meal the ocean was serving up, the surface boiling and frothing with life.  As we drew closer we spotted a dolphin then two, ten, hundreds and hundreds of them!  An entire pod of dolphins, creating a bait ball, hunting and feeding with incredible speed and agility.  Then out of nowhere a whale surfaced right in the middle of the bait ball dispersing it and the dolphins, leaving them to regather and start the hunt again.  No amount of words can describe the magnitutde and the beauty of what was happening in front of my eyes!

As we turned around some of the dolphins followed, playing in the wake while others toyed with the bow – swimming alongside, breaking free from the water and gratiously diving back down just moments before the bow breaks the water.   Lying down with our hands in the water they came close enough for us see the sun painting different colours on their skin and the scars on their bodies, staying just out of reach.  Then, just before they disappear below the surface, a mocking flick of the tailfin served as a reminder that you are in their territory as the water is splashed over your face and they disappear to regroup for the next hunt to begin.

  

It carried on for a good couple of hours and we would probably have stayed out longer had it not been for the low tide, which put a time limit on our time out there.

I have never had a more humbling and exhilirating experience.  It was truly beyond what I am able to put into words.  I have certainly learned one thing:

  

The only question that remains (and yes, you know with me there is always a question that remains):

   When can we do it again?!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

Say something, you know you want to!

