Quote me…

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

I am a HUGE fan of quotable quotes. On seeing the prompt, I immediately knew which one, two actually, I would go with, but thought it would be interesting to see how many quote images I have on my iPhone – 2 937!!! There is just something about the written word that draws me in and I just can’t resist saving these and pondering over them late at night. Perhaps one day, when I am older and wiser and have satisfied myself that I know all there is to know about love (hahaha), I will publish “Quotes on Love – How to Love Right for Dummies”… 

For the purpose of the Daily Prompt, the first quote that I will go with must be the one that my mom has taught me years and years ago and which she wants inscribed on her tombstone, believe it or not:

 

I have had to do a lot of soul searching in writing this post and, some of the things I am about to divulge is guaranteed to shock some of my relatives. Writing this turned out to be harder than expected…

It honestly does not matter how bad a situation is, there really always is something to be grateful for. It is true that, more often than not, when we are faced with the stark reality of a dark situation, it is not easy to see something to be grateful for. However, you will find when you look back, in a week, a month, a year perhaps, you are able to find that something good has come out of the situation. Don’t believe me? Indulge me for a minute, will you?

I am grateful my parents got divorced when I was just five years old and my sister and I had to go live with my grandparents. The years with them taught me what it would be like to have a relationship based on love, trust and respect. It taught me the values of what I am looking for in a relationship.

I am grateful for a gun that failed when I so desperately wanted to take someone’s life at the age of 16. Years later I was able to see that, had I succeeded, my life would have turned out so much different and most certainly not for the better. What preceded and followed that day made me who I am today. It made me stronger, it taught me how to make things work no matter what, it taught me how to make a plan, it taught me that it is up to you to change what you don’t like – no one is going to do that for you, it really is up to you.

I am grateful for never having had much money. It taught me how to survive when the odds are stacked against you and how to value what I have. It taught me how to fend for myself when it feels like everything around you is about to swallow you whole.

I am grateful for the things that led up to day when I realized that my marriage of 12 years have died. It made me see how easy it is for denial to silence the voice of reason and hope we carry inside of us and swallows who you are.

I am grateful for falling in love, way out of my depth and having my heart ripped to shreds. It taught me new dimensions of who I am and what I am actually capable of – on a physical and, more importantly, an emotional level. It brought back confidence I lost after my marriage failed and awoke in my a passion for life I never knew I had. It taught me what I will or will not tolerate in a relationship. It taught me about my values and boundaries and mind sets I have to change.

I can and always will find something to be grateful for, regardless of what comes my way.
 
Quote 2 is, sort of, my mantra for this year.
  
For too long I have stressed about things I can not change. For too long I have fought to always be in control of what happens around me. For too long I have allowed uncertainty to steal my joy. This year it really is a matter of whatever will be, will be. I take things as they come and will meet every situation with the pride and fire that burns inside of me, no longer afraid.

Tell me about quotes that inspire you?

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Quote me…”

  1. Hi, These are two beautiful quotes that I also relate with. Indeed, there is always something to be thankful for every waking morning. If nothing tangible, being alive is enough gift for the day which am most grateful for. And of course, what will be will be! It seems a ‘cliché’ but I believe that no matter how far we run, fate will always catch up with us. Thank you for sharing these powerful quotes. I am inspired to get mine out there too. Cheers!
    https://simpledimplesite.wordpress.com/

Say something, you know you want to!

