Stranger in a strange land

sulky face

Do you see this sulk?  Do you, really?  Well, it’s because the Daily Prompt have managed to remind me of all the places I have never been!

What’s your favorite part about visiting a new place — the food? The architecture? The people watching?

There are so many countries I want to visit and so many places I would love to see, I don’t know where to start.  I have never left South Africa and have, for that matter, never even set foot on a plane before.  For every place I visit, I intend to learn a traditional dance, eat a traditional mean and wear a traditional outfit on top of learning some basic conversational sentences.

For the sake of this prompt then, in no particular order, herewith my

Top 5 10 Places I will be visiting one day:

spain

Spain – I want to eat and sip wine and talk and walk and listen and see and have a siesta and then do it all over again.  I will have to do this one last as I fear I will never leave if I set foot in Spain.

egypt

Egypt – For this excursion I might have to sign up as an archaeologist assistant, because I really want to get into the thick of things with the pyramids.

jerusalem

Jerusalem – I want to see the streets were Jesus walked.  Even though I said that I won’t put these in any specific order, this Pilgrimage is one that ranks highest on my list of places to visit.

amazon

Amazon Rain forest – This journey would need to be a long one, I would imagine that I would be spending about 2 years (lost) in the rain forest.  I want to see it all and spend time with the tribes and learn their ways.

kilimanjaro

Africa – all of it!  Every country, every capital, every culture, but most importantly Kilimanjaro.

rio

Rio de Janeiro – In Carnival time.  I think that the Mardi Grass is a once in a lifetime opportunity for anyone

stonehenge

England – Shakespeare, Lady Diana and other royalty, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, William Wallace, Nottingham and  Stonehenge, castles and ruins.

freud

Vienna – Perhaps if I can retrace the footsteps of Freud, I can make more sense of the crazy world we live in.

newyork

New York – The City that never sleeps, home to the New York Stock Exchange and 5th Avenue Shopping district.  This is where I plan to buy myself a pair of ridiculously expensive Jimmy Choo’s.

paris

Paris – The City of Love – Need I say more.  I am a die heart romantic, in case you haven’t noticed.

Some more global travelers:

  1. Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land | flow of my soul
  2. Daily Prompt: Strange in a Strange Land « Mama Bear Musings
  3. Kashmir Art and Crafts | njoy every moment
  4. A Stranger in a strange land… | The Rider
  5. A Texan’s Safari in Ukraine. | luvsiesous
  6. Daily Prompt Wednesday July 17 2013 | it writes itself
  7. I like to take a seat and let it all sink in. | thoughtsofrkh
  8. It Can’t Fit the Frame: Romans 11:33 | The Photo Faith Challenge
  9. Stranger in a stranger land: living in America. | thewordpressghost
  10. Fish Guts (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

 

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “Stranger in a strange land”

Say something, you know you want to!

