Bittersweet

bittersweet

You receive a gift that is bittersweet and it makes you nostalgic.  What is it?

I am going to veer slightly off course with this one and instead write about a gift that I would like to pass to the children of the world.

It is with great sadness that I have been listening to the news lately.  There are just so many bad things and bad people out there.  Things we never had as children.  Over lunch today we were chatting about the Justice System and what it used to mean to us growing up.  Our world has turned evil and I am afraid for Luke and all the other children out there.  It makes me want to be a paranoid mother, shielding my son forever from the world.

With nostalgia I remembered the reverence we had for the police when I was a child.  My dad worked as a Police Reservist at the time and his uniform (and especially the police issue belt that came out when our ears stopped working) was something that we admired.  It was something we looked up to.  Today you see videos and hear stories of policemen and -woman beating up people, stealing their belongings and raping woman who come into the charge office.

When the Magistrate drove past you, you automatically wanted to walk more upright to proof you are a worthy citizen.  Today they are on strike, demanding higher wages, because they don’t get enough from their corrupt dealings.

I wish I could give my son the world I had when I was only 10.   I fear for what he will know and see before he reaches adulthood.  I fear for his children.

It’s not difficult to make me cry, but today I cried because I know that we, our parents and their parents before them, have failed the future.  We got so caught up with doing things “right for us” that we had no regard for the future.  Now we are stuck in a world with very little self-respect and virtually no respect for other human beings.  Dignity and moral values are so scarce; it is laughed at as being “old fashioned”.

What do we do to fix this?  How do we fix the broken human spirit?  How do we change it around?

I don’t know and it makes me sad.  I am nostalgic about the world as we knew.  It will never be available to our children.

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “Bittersweet”

    1. I suppose that is true. I guess we can only try to raise children who will not have to feel that way about their children. A bit idealistic of me, but I wish we could find the key to making the difference in the next generation.

  1. In the UK I don’t know that the police etc. are any more corrupt now than they were decades ago, but certainly they’re not held in the same respect by many people. They’re viewed more as “the enemy”.
    I don’t know how or when all these changes came about, they sort of crept up on us. I don’t know how to fix them either 😦

    1. Pity, I was hoping the Dr would have an answer! Just kidding! I guess we can just do the best to our ability with our kids and try to send “whole” humans out into the world.

Say something, you know you want to!

