MacMillan Cancer Support

I am not one to usually post links asking for donations, but this one is very close to my heart.  I personally know Karen, who sent this email to me.  Please read and where possible, please help.  Any amount, even as little as $1, will help little Alexander to get the help he needs

Lido Challenge 2013

I am unashamedly pimping out this link to everyone I know for sponsorship and donations towards MacMillan Cancer Support

http://www.justgiving.com/KARENWALKER1978/?utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=fundraisingpage&utm_content=KARENWALKER1978&utm_campaign=pfp-share

I am sure that there are many people I know who have been affected by this horrible disease and I can’t do much else other than get myself out there to raise a bit of money for this wonderful organisation that is helping my family and several close friends through the toughest time of their lives.

SO – anything – even £1 – you are able to donate would be appreciated more than words can say. The site is 100% secure, and all of the funds plus any gift aid from UK tax payers will go directly to them and I will PERSONALLY send you a THANK YOU as well!

He details for the event I am doing are on the link – or given below.

I hope that you will not be at all offended by my request, and if you are unable to support financially then an email of emotional support that I can send on to Ally would be as much appreciated as she fights LITERALLY for her little boys life!

Thanks and lots of love

 Karen

 Xxx

 macmillan2

 

macmillan1

Our Story and the reason for taking part in this MacMillan Event:

 I have decided to dig out my swimming costume and get back in the pool after nearly 15 years of being a spectator to raise some money for Macmillan Cancer Support because its THE LEAST I CAN DO!

 My little nephew Alexander was diagnosed with Leukaemia this year and has been having Chemotherapy since March. He is only 4 years old and has been an absolute SUPERHERO through all the treatments. I have never seen him feeling sorry for himself, and no matter how poorly he feels he is ALWAYS smiling and positive.

 He is quite the charmer, and I couldn’t be more proud of him.

     My super amazing (and heavily pregnant) sister Alison is soldiering through the toughest challenge of her life with a determination only a mother could possibly have and she is as much the inspiration behind my reason for doing this as Xander is. I can’t imagine what she has to deal with on a daily basis and yet she always seems to be in a state of controlled chaos! I love her to the moon and back and hope that this bumpy road comes to a positive conclusion sooner rather than later!

ALLY – YOU ARE MY HERO!! I LOVE YOU!!!!

 So anyway – back to the business at hand:

For anyone who knows me, knows Alison or my family, I would appreciate your support and donations which all go towards a charity that is worth its weight in gold.

 I know this is hardly the biggest challenge in the world – it’s not the same as climbing Mount Everest in pyjama’s or running a marathon barefoot on broken glass, but it is my small way of Paying it Forward, and I hope that if you can you will donate, even a £1!

 Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

So please dig deep and donate now.

 

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “MacMillan Cancer Support”

  1. MacMillan Cancer Support is a very worthwhile charity (I set up a direct debit for a tenner a month some time ago, so hopefully I am already helping!).

    My very best wishes go out to your friend and her relatives and of course little Alexander.

Say something, you know you want to!

