Daily Prompt – Second Time Around

I found today’s Daily Prompt an easy one:  Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

I first read The Greatest Salesman in the World by Og Mandino as compulsory reading during sales training.  Although the story is based on a salesman, I have found the principles applicable to all walks of life.

It works on the basis that you read each one of the scrolls for a period of 30 days, 3 times per day, before moving on to the next.  This way the scroll becomes a part of your subconscious mind and habits.  Only by performing good habits continually can we move forward and grow.  I am yet to find someone who did not find this book useful and there is at the very least one scroll which will be applicable to your life.

The Scroll which most spoke to me was Number 4.  Here it is:

“I am nature’s greatest miracle

Since the beginning of time never has there been another with my mind, my heart,
my eyes, my ears, my hands, my hair, my mouth. None that came before, none that
live today, and none that come tomorrow can walk and talk and move and think
exactly like me. All men are my brothers yet I am different from each. I am a unique
creature.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

Although I am of the animal kingdom, animal rewards alone will not satisfy me.
Within me burns a flame, which has been passed from generations uncounted, and its
heat is a constant irritation to my spirit to become better than I am, and I will. I will
fan this flame of dissatisfaction and proclaim my uniqueness to the world.

None can duplicate my brush strokes, none can duplicate my chisel marks, none can
duplicate my handwriting, none can produce my child, and, in truth, none has the
ability to sell exactly as I. Henceforth, I will capitalize on this difference for it is an
asset to be promoted to the fullest.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

Vain attempts to imitate others no longer will I make. Instead I will place my
uniqueness on display in the market place. I will proclaim it, yea, I will sell it. I will
begin now to accent my differences; hide my similarities. So too will I apply this
principle to the goods I sell. Salesman and goods, different from all others, and proud
of the differences.

I am a unique creature of nature.

I am rare, and there is value in all rarity; therefore, I am valuable. I am the end product of thousands of years of evolution; therefore, I am better equipped in both mind and body than all the emperors and wise men who preceded me. But my skills, my mind, my heart, and my body will stagnate, rot, and die lest I put them to good use. I have unlimited potential. Only a small portion of my brain do I employ; only a paltry amount of muscles do I flex. A hundredfold or more can I increase my accomplishments of yesterday and this I will do, beginning today. 

Nevermore will I be satisfied with yesterday’s accomplishments nor will I indulge,
anymore, in self-praise for deeds which in reality are too small to even acknowledge.
I can accomplish far more than I have, and I will, for why should the miracle which
produced me end with my birth? Why can I not extend that miracle to my deeds of
today?

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

I am not on this earth by chance. I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow
into a mountain, not to shrink to a grain of sand. Henceforth will I apply all my
efforts to become the highest mountain of all and I will strain my potential until it
cries for mercy.

I will increase my knowledge of mankind, myself, and the goods I sell, thus my sales
will multiply. I will practice, and improve, and polish the words I utter to sell my
goods, for this is the formulation on which I will build my career and never will I
forget that many have attained great wealth and success with only one sales talk,
delivered with excellence. Also will I seek constantly to improve my manners and
graces, for they are the sugar to which all are attracted.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

I will concentrate my energy on the challenge of the moment and my actions will
help me forget all else. The problems of my home will be left in my home. I will
think naught of my family when I am in the market place for this will cloud my
thoughts. So too will the problems of the market place be left in the market place and
I will think naught of my profession when I am in my home for this will dampen my
love.

There is no room in the market place for my family, nor is there room in my home
for the market. Each I will divorce from the other and thus will I remain wedded to
both. Separate must they remain or my career will die. This is the paradox of the
ages.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

I have been given eyes to see and a mind to think and now I know a great secret of
life for I perceive, at last, that all my problems, discouragements, and heartaches are,
in truth, great opportunities in disguise. I will no longer be fooled by the garments
they wear for mine eyes are open. I will look beyond the cloth and I will not be
deceived.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

No beast, no plant, no wind, no rain, no rock, no lake had the same beginning as I,
for I was conceived in love and brought forth with a purpose. In the past I have not
considered this fact but it will henceforth shape and guide my life.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.

And nature knows not defeat. Eventually, she emerges victorious and so will I, and
with each victory the next struggle becomes less difficult.

I will win, and I will become a great salesman, for I am unique.

I am nature’s greatest miracle.”

Beautiful is it not?  Do yourself a favor and get yourself a copy of this book.  It is guaranteed to have an impact on your life!

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Second Time Around”

    1. Very true. I am a bit of a rebel when it comes to what I “have to” do, but really enjoyed this one. I’m on my second copy already and have the scrolls in e-format too. This book fast becomes a daily companion

Say something, you know you want to!

