Daily Prompt: Landscape

When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do you see the forest first, or the trees?

tree and book

While the forest is beautiful, the true beauty lies in each tree, which makes up the forest.

I first fell in love with trees in my 3rd grade thanks to my teacher, Marietjie Meintjies, who I love dearly to this day.  She taught me not only a love and profound respect for the English language but also how to draw a tree.  She would take us outside and show us how you can draw a tree simply by using tick marks!

I am useless at giving instructions, so I will not even try, but here is a rough sketch to give you an idea

Bare-Tree

 

I’m sure you get the idea, right?

Since then I have had an affinity for trees, and plants in general, and I simply can’t walk past one without touching it.  The texture of the bark, the smell of the leaves – it is just so pure and true.  There is no BS in a tree.  A tree can not lie or disguise itself to be something else.  Some trees only grow and never change.  Some trees grow and continually change with every season, yet it remains the same tree.

My dad is an Oak Tree, tall and proud.  My mom is a Weeping Willow, with branches that touch into every corner of my life, gently sweeping away the dust, yet strong enough to withstand every storm.  I have “a tree” for each member of my family and they make up the forest I live in.

Without trees we can not have a forest, without a forest there will be no fairies to believe in, without fairies there are no stories.

Without stories, what do we have?

fairy

Author: nanuschka

I am a free spirit born in the Free State, 20 years to late. I am Ying and Yang. I am the girl next door who prefers daisies and peace rallies, but can just as easily rock at a rally. I love all things Latin and am sure that in my previous life (if that existed) I was Spanish. The dark side of me, however, tells me that I lived in Mother Russia. On a quest to find my happy-ever-after, I am in constant search of answers to all things that makes us human. What we do and, more importantly, why we do it. I hope you enjoy my rambles and would love to hear from you!

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Landscape”

  1. Love it – i knew someone once that described all his children as different types of apples … the mackintosh, etc. He gave a very moving speech on it once. Anyway, just stopping in to see what others wrote about for the prompt – Cheers!

Say something, you know you want to!

